African American Legislators Photo Gallery

"Our future is sure... here we have lived, suffered, fought, bled and many have died. We will not leave the graves of our fathers, but here we will rear our children; here we will educate them to a higher destiny... we will be exalted..." -William H. Grey of Helena, Phillips County

Each image includes the name, county, dates of service, and a letter indicating the legislative body in which they served (H = House of Representatives, S = Senate).

Anderson Louis RushPulaski1868-1869 (H)
Richard R. SamuelsHempstead1868-1869 (H)
James W. MasonChicot1868-1869, 1871 (S)
Monroe E. HawkinsLafayette1868-1869, 1873 (H)
Edward A FultonDrew1871 (H)
Jeff HaskinsSt. Francis1871 (H)
Americus MaysMonroe1871 (H)
James Milo AlexanderPhillips1871 (H)
Conway BarbourLafayette1871 (H)
Austin BarrowMonroe, Phillips1871 (H)
John W. WebbChicot1871 (H)
Adam R. JohnsonCrittenden1871, 1873 (H)
James A RobinsonDesha1871, 1874-1875 (H)
Charles BrownWoodruff1873 (H)
Neal BrownPulaski1873 (H)
Tony GrissomPhillips1873 (H)
John C. RollinsAshley1873 (H)
William A. MarshallHempstead1873 (H)
Henry H. RobinsonMonroe1873 (H)
George H. W. StewartPhillips1873 (H)
Archie SheppersonHempstead1873 (H)
John Willis WilliamsPhillips1873 (H); 1874-1875
Richard A. DawsonJefferson1873 (S); 1879 (H)
Samuel H. HollandChicot1873, 1874 (S)
Ruben B. WhitePulaski1873, 1874 (S)
William L. CopelandCrittenden1873, 1874-1875 (H)
William MurphyJefferson1873, 1877 (H)
William Hines FurbushPhillips, Lee1873, 1879 (H)
Ned HillJefferson1874-1875 (H)
L.J. MaxwellJefferson1874-1875 (H)
Levi B. BastonJefferson1874-1875 (H)
Burns PolkLee1874-1875 (H)
Berry ColemanPhillips1874-1875, 1877 (HS)
Crockett BrownLee1877 (H)
Patrick T. PriceLee1877 (H)
Frank H. SawyersLincoln1877 (H)
James Wofford