SARA - Southwest Arkansas Regional Archives

The Southwest Arkansas Regional Archives (SARA) was founded in 1978 as a project of the Hempstead County Historical Society, with assistance from the Arkansas History Commission, Historic Washington State Park, and the Pioneer Washington Restoration Foundation. Its mission is to serve the twelve counties in southwest Arkansas formed from the original Hempstead County: Columbia, Hempstead, Howard, Lafayette, Little River, Miller, Nevada, Ouachita, Pike, Polk, Sevier, and Union. In 1980, SARA became an independent entity governed by a board of directors composed of two representatives from each of the twelve counties.

On October 1, 2005, the Arkansas History Commission and State Archives acquired the Southwest Arkansas Regional Archives (SARA). A ceremony transferring SARA to the Arkansas History Commission and State Archives, as well as celebrating its twenty-seven year history, was held on October 29, 2005.

Southwest Arkansas Regional Archives is located in the former Washington Elementary School, 201 Highway 195 South, Washington, Arkansas, 71862, adjacent to Historic Washington State Park. Contact SARA by phone at 870.983.2633, or by emailing